What I did on my summer vacation

I guess I sort of spaced on writing the follow up to my last post.

I didn’t mean to. I fully planned on writing a tastefully scathing summary of the events that led to me leaving my old job but then, as cheesy as it sounds, life happened. Suddenly getting a dig in at the world’s least competent manager didn’t seem important. For now, it’s just important to know that I don’t have a job and man, I am ever so much more happy than I was the last 9 years.

I could give a lot of advice about working somewhere that doesn’t value their employees or has what best can be described as a Dickensian understanding of employee benefits but really the most important thing to realize is that you don’t have to work somewhere forever. Seriously. Work there until you have what you needed from it and MOVE ON. Experience, debt paid, residency, etc.: all great reasons to take a job but they’re not reasons to stay somewhere that makes you clinically depressed.

So any way, back to that “life” that “happened”.

When I left work, I told Jack that I wanted to take a month to really chill out and just get my head back together after almost a decade of nonsense. It took a lot longer than a month and involved getting another job, modeling, quitting the new job, soul searching, yarn dying, sweater knitting, shit starting and having a lot of serious discussions about my future.

Parts of it (modeling, knitting) were pretty fun. Parts of it (soul searching, talks about a nebulous future) were not. But 5 months later, here I am – married, packing up to move and getting back into writing. It’s a weird starting point but I’m excited.

One Comment

  1. I’m so glad for all the changes! Leaving bad things behind, embarking on unknowns and brighter futures. Congratulations again and I can’t wait to see you up in Washington!

    Reply

Leave a comment